RSS Feed

Tahajjud

I: Tahajjud at night

The words of Allah, the Mighty and Exalted, “And stay awake for prayer during part of the night as a supererogatory action for yourself.” (17:79)

1069. It is related that Ibn ‘Abbas was heard to say, “When the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, stood up in the night to pray tahajjud, he would say, ‘O Allah, Yours is the praise. You are the upholder of the heavens and the earth and everyone in them. Yours is the praise. Yours is the kingdom of the heavens and the earth and everyone in them. Yours is the praise – Light of the heavens and the earth – Yours is the praise. You are the Truth. Your promise is true. The meeting with You is true. Your word is true. The Garden is true and the Fire is true. The Prophets are true and Muhammad is true. The Hour is true. O Allah, I have submitted to You and I have believed in You. In You I have put my trust and to You I turn. I argue by You and take You as arbitrator. Forgive me my past and future wrong actions and what I keep secret and what I make known. You are the One who puts forward and defers. There is no god but You – or there is no god other than You.'”

‘Abdu’l-Karim Abu Umayya added, “There is no power nor strength except by Allah.”

Tawus related it from Ibn ‘Abbas from the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace.

 http://bewley.virtualave.net/bukhari10.html#25

About seekerofsacredilm

The people of knowledge are the heirs of the Prophets and and they inherit knowledge. The one who takes knowledge is taking an ample share. And if someone travels a path in quest of knowledge, Allah will make his path to the Garden

Leave a Reply

